Our Investments

www.sumed.org visit: www.sumed.org

SUMED

The Arab Petroleum Pipelines Company, known as SUMED, is a joint venture formed in 1977 between Egyptian General Petroleum, Saudi Arabian Oil Company, three Kuwaiti companies and Qatar Petroleum. Today IPIC holds a 14.8% stake in the company. SUMED owns two parallel 42-inch-diameter oil pipelines that run for 320 kilometres across Egypt from the Gulf of Suez to the Mediterranean. They provide an economic alternative to the Suez Canal for oil being transported from the Arabian Gulf region to the Mediterranean, especially in light of the inability of the Canal to accommodate the largest supertankers.

SUMED provides the most reliable, secure and economic route for Arab Gulf crude oil movements to the consuming refining centres in the West. Over the years, it has gained market share to the point today where almost 80% of the oil shipped from the Arabian Gulf to Europe passes through the pipelines, with major oil companies using SUMED as their sole route to Europe.

Crude oil is transported through the two pipelines, starting from the Ain Sukhna terminal to the Sidi Kerir terminal, crossing the River Nile south of Cairo where a pressure relief station preserves the pipelines from any over-pressure. The oil is dispatched by two pumping stations consisting of 10 electrically driven eight-megawatt centrifugal pumps, each capable of pumping oil at a flow rate of up to 9,300 m3/hr per pipeline. The crude continues streaming through the Dahshour intermediate boosting station which consists of six pumps, each driven by a 26-megawatt gas turbine.

The pipeline is automatically and remotely controlled from the dispatching centre located at Ain Sukhna through a state-of-the-art SCADA system connected to all sites via a dedicated digital microwave link, with a hot stand-by from Dahshour station. All parameters of the pipeline are also monitored from SUMED headquarters at Alexandria, where the batching operation schedule is coordinated with pipeline users.

Being only a few days away from refining centres in Europe, using SUMED saves refineries the capital cost of building storage tanks or maintaining high inventories to guarantee smooth operations. SUMED has built two large storage tank farms, one at each terminal, for handling various types of crudes transported, while maintaining proper segregation.

استثماراتنا

www.sumed.org تفضل بزيارة www.sumed.org

سوميد

تعد الشركة العربية لأنابيب البترول "سوميد"، مشروعاً مشتركاً بين الشركة المصرية العامة للبترول وشركة البترول السعودية وثلاث شركات كويتية وشركة قطر بتروليوم، وتم انشاؤها في العام 1977. وتمتلك "آيبيك" حصة 14.8% في الشركة. وتمتلك "سوميد" اثنين من خطوط أنابيب النفط بقطر 42 بوصة بطول 320 كيلومتراً في جميع أنحاء مصر، انطلاقاً من خليج السويس إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط​​ ما يوفر بديلاً اقتصادياً لقناة السويس لتصدير النفط من الخليج العربي إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط​​، وبالأخص في ظل عدم قدرة القناة على استيعاب الناقلات العملاقة.

و توفر "سوميد" خط أنابيب أكثر سلامة واعتماداً من الخليج العربي إلى مصافي التكرير في الغرب، وعلى مر السنين اكتسبت حصة سوقية متنامية لتصل اليوم إلى 80% من النفط الخليجي الذي يتم شحنه إلى أوروبا عبر خطوط الأنابيب، حيث تستخدم شركات النفط الكبرى "سوميد" كخط وحيد إلى أوروبا.

و يمتد خط بترول "سوميد" من العين السخنة إلى سيدي كرير عابراً جنوب نهر النيل، حيث تحافظ محطة تخفيف الضغط على خطوط الأنابيب من أي زيادة في الضغط. ويوزّع النفط من قبل محطتي ضخ تتكون من 10 مضخات بطاقة 8 ميغاواط، كل مضخة تتمتع بقدرة 9,300 متر مكعب في الساعة للأنبوب. ويستمر التدفق من خلال محطة تقوية في دهشور تتألف من ست مضخات، مزودة جميعها بتوربينات غاز بطاقة 26 ميغاواط.

و يتم التحكم بالأنبوب تلقائيا وأوتوماتيكياً عن بعد من مركز التوزيع في العين السخنة، من خلال نظام "إس سي آي دي آي" المتطور والمتصل بجميع المواقع عبر وصلة الميكروويف الرقمية. ويتم رصد جميع بارامترات خط الأنابيب أيضاً من مقر "سوميد" في الاسكندرية، حيث يتم تنسيق الجدول الزمني للعملية مع مستخدمي خط الأنابيب.

و توفر "سوميد" الكثير من تكاليف بناء صهاريج التخزين ومصاريف المحافظة على مخزونات النفط نظراً لقرب خطوطها من مراكز التكرير في أوروبا، وشيدت "سوميد" صهريجين للتخزين يقع كل واحد منهما في محطة، بهدف التعامل مع أنواع مختلفة من النفط الخام ونقلها مع المحافظة على طرق الفصل بينها بطريقة سليمة.